• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Tried and True Danish Oil versus Boiled Linseed Oil finish--question on application

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to muzzle loading, but I've refinished a few stocks in recent years for modern rifles. I really like a hand-rubbed BLO finish and have put in the time to make them come our right.

Now that I'm building my first muzzleloader (Bucks County), I'm experimenting with aqua fortis and then, Tried and True Danish oil. According to directions, I'm to apply it with a soft lint free cloth, wait 15 minutes, and then gently wipe off the excess with a clean rag. However, when I look at the label on the can, it appears it's primarily polymerized linseed oil.

Why wouldn't I apply it like BLO, using the friction of my hand to help set the oil?

Linseed just takes forever and a day. I like it but it has its problems. If your caught in the rain it can turn sticky, and if your sloppy adding a coat it can be a Pia.
I use Tracks original oil finish myself, looks like linseed, good deep finish, but is a little harder then straight linseed and more forgiving to apply

Linseed just takes forever and a day. I like it but it has its problems. If your caught in the rain it can turn sticky, and if your sloppy adding a coat it can be a Pia.
I use Tracks original oil finish myself, looks like linseed, good deep finish, but is a little harder then straight linseed and more forgiving to apply
I’ve not used Danish but it makes a good looker