• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Tenderfoot has a project

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Freezer

32 Cal
Reaction score
I'm new to the world of ML, Never owned one, never shot one. I did build a beautiful T/C Hawken for a co-worker (see my intro) and he gave me a CVA Kentucky rifle kit as a “Thank You”. I found this site when a read an article from 2007 "Does CVA equal junk" which is what I've been told. There are screws and a flint missing that I have found online. I want this rifle to hunt Pa's ML season. I have the talent and enough tools for this project, but have a lot to learn and many questions. I have been doing some research and really don't want to spend $265 on a new lock.

This is a CVA Kentucky Rifle kit made by Jukar in Spain. The first thing I noticed is the tang doesn't match up with the stock. I believe I need to heat and bend it to get the correct alignment. The second is there is a primer hole and not an insert. Would I be better off drilling and taping it for an insert?