• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

TC maxiball too tight in a TC Hawken ?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I've been pouring with this mold for nearly 30 years.
The rounds fit down the barrel perfectly and shot extremely accurately out of my, that old, Traditions Hawken.

Thopson Center Maxiball mold.jpg

I recently sold the Traditions after I picked up a new to me but never shot pre warning wall hanger TC Hawken. I figured it was an upgrade, even has a peep sight.
Went to the range and the rounds that went just right down the barrel of the Tradition have to be hammered down the barrel of the TC.

I have only heard and do not personally know that the Traditions bores are a little large that TCs, but I do know that Maxi Balls cast out of non pure lead alloys typically are harder and larger, resulting in them being more difficult to load in TC bores. What were the results of hardness testing on the lead you are using to cast your Maxi Balls?

Obviously and unexpected
Should have kept the Traditions