• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Sure-fire loading technique

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kwilfong

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I started shooting muzzleloaders over 30 years ago when I built a flintlock pistol kit while going to college, & hunted with only frontstuffers for some years(flintlock squirrel rifle, caplock shotgun, & various caplock "Hawkens" but got away from it for a while. I'm back big time & am anxious for M/L deer season. I used to wipe the barrel & pop a couple caps before loading my caplock Hawken replicas before loading for deer hunting but the only time I ever drew a bead on one, my Browning Mountain Rifle misfired :cursing:
How do you boys prep & load your caplocks before hunting? I'm tempted to hose it out good with carb cleaner & blow it out with compressed air. That's been working well for me with C&B revolvers.

I've never experienced a misfire while hunting, much to the dismay of quite a few deer...