• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Suggested Books

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sean Adams

32 Cal
Reaction score
This is my first post of many, I am sure. I have been shooting firearms for over 40 years, but have only shot black powder a couple times in my life. I have however always been a lover of Colonial American history, and still live in New Hampshire where my family arrived almost 400 years ago, so I would say it is about time. I am buying my son a flintlock for Christmas, and plan on building myself one. What I really need now is a great book to get me up to speed on the basics of firing, working out loads, and maintenance, as well as an overview of different members of the flintlock family. Then perhaps it's companion that will help me work through my project build.

Most on here will suggest these two books to help with the build. Some information on use and care as well.
The Art of Building the Pennsylvania Long Rifle, Chuck Dixon. Gives a good overview of the where and the why of how the parts are fitted together.
The Gunsmith of Grenville County, Peter Alexander. Use this book side by side with the other. MUCH ore in depth information. Perhaps too much on your first build, but if Dixons chapter on a certain part leaves you with a question, Alexander's book will cover that part a little deeper.
Then of course you can come back on here and post a pic and a question. Everyone will help lead you back on track.