• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Spraying Tru-Oil

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am new to muzzle loaders but not new to firearms. I have finished and refinished gun stocks, grips etc for decades. Some things I have learned about spraying Tru-Oil might help others. This is going to be a long post.

I use a Paasche SI airbrush.
#3 Needle
The end of the needle protrudes from the back of the brush 1/4"
If you buy this brush also order 1 Oz. glass bottles (VL-1-OZ). The plastic bottles that come with a kit are junk, I use them only for holding naphtha for cleaning purposes.
Order a reamer (VL-54). Trust me you will end up needing it sooner or later.
I have 2 extra triggers on hand (SI-10), I will explain this later.

Years ago I used lacquer thinner to thin the Tru-Oil for spraying. I don't know when the formula changed but lacquer thinner no longer works, use Naphtha as thinner.

Process for preparing and spraying:

I put one to two coats of Tru-Oil on by hand scuffing down between coats.