• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Smooth Bore fowler (sbf)

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi I am new to the sb fowler.
And have guestions on shot.
I have a 28ga trade gun. Some areas I hunt do not allow lead shot..
Any recommendations. I don't plan to use steel. Will nickel, copper, or bismuth work.. someone said the like the new tungsten in modern guns.
Has anyone ever tried glass balls/marbles?

So nickel and copper tend to be nickel or copper plated lead. The coating is there to give a layer of hardness to prevent deformation when fired, and upon impact so that at max distances you get good penetration in the bird.
I know some folks use steel BB's.
Bismuth will work fine.
Tungsten is quite expensive.

LD

Go with Bismuth for the lead-free areas. Cheaper than Tungsten and for the ranges a 28 is great at just as good.

Also, with Bismuth you will not need special wads as tungsten and steel will if you do not want to wreck your bore.
@RHR