• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Shooting technique

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Notremor

32 Cal.
Reaction score
After reading Harpman's last post on tunig his GPR I began to wonder about my shooting technique. For the past several years I have been heavily involved in traditional archery and went 25 years without shooting a gun. I did shoot quite a bit when I was young but was self taught. I recently started into BP and y'all have been so much help already I was wondering if you could give any shooting tips to someone before they began to develop any bad habits. Right now I basically point and click. Thanks. TLD.

My first piece of advice would be to change that to point and squeeze .

What sort of weapon are you using? I shoot an 1860 Colt revolver, and the three biggest boons to accuracy I've discovered are:

1) Make sure the axis of the revolver barrel is lined up with (and not parallel to) the long bones of your forearm. To achieve this grip, I had to rotate my hand to the inside by about 30 degrees (i.e., if you look down on my hand and the gun from the top, I turned my grip "ahead" by one hour).

2) Test-fire to figure your elevation. "Common sense" told me that a revolver should be spot-on at 25 yards, but mine actually shoots 6 inches high at that range (this is common for repro BP revolvers).