• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

selecting a caliber for hunting? small game vs big game

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KIt

32 Cal
Reaction score
Hi, I am new to the MlF. I am looking to purchase my first flint lock rifle. I am thinking of a 36 or 40 caliber to be used for plinking and small game like rabbits or perhaps coyote. 45 , 50 or 54 for deer or possibly Elk. What do you recommend? What are the advantages and disadvantages of the various calibers?

For small game I use 32 caliber but a 36 will do the same job when loaded appropriately for small game. No need to use high powder charges for small game just want a load that is accurate at small game range. I like the small calibers because they use a lot less powder and lead than the larger calibers and are very economical to shoot. Would not hesitate to Shoot a Coyote at the right range with any of my small bores. Make sure that you check your states regs for small game calibers. As for large game if Elk was a possibility I would go for a 54 Cal,

For small game and deer a .45 will do fine but not for elk. .54 is what I would use for elk. However, two flinters are pricey and if elk is a sometimes thing, a .45 is your best bet.

My all time favorite small game rifle is my .45 flint southern rifle with light loads (25-45 grains of FFG) and with heavier loads can use it on smaller deer if wanted. A .50 is pretty hard to beat as a all around gun.

Why limit yourself with a rifle? Do you live in an open prairie area where long shots are the norm?