• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

'Scattergun' loads in medieval handgonnes?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hyuzu

40 Cal
Reaction score
Out of curiosity, I was wondering whether there are any historical accounts of medieval handgonners using 'scattergun' or 'buck and ball' type loads in their weapons, rather than a single lead ball? I'm no expert on this field, but in my limited reading I only saw reference to single projectiles being loaded. I thought that maybe trying out a scattergun load might have crossed someone's mind at some point during the medieval period, especially if you were shooting into a pack of spear-wielding peasants closing in fast...

Have never read of such an occurrence. Earliest writings ‘here’ (US) point to early settler ‘Ranging Companies’ using buck & ball loads. They were very popular in the F&I War era too.

I did see some references to the early handgonnes being used to launch arrows or bolts.
I'm sure the need for launching something at your adversary even when the lead ran out would have included rocks, nails, etc.... like we see referenced in smoothbores and cannons in the past.

I did see some references to the early handgonnes being used to launch arrows or bolts.

I saw the same (at least with small cannons, though not necessarily handgonnes), but nothing about a medieval equivalent to buckshot...

213118898_199f3e234f_z.jpg

Medieval cannon at Firepower Museum of the Royal Artillery

Further to the above;