• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Safe loading technique - when to prime.

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ironoxide

40 Cal
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to flintlocks as I've been shooting my first flint pistol for few weeks.

I've been thinking about the commonly accepted safety rule of priming the pan as the last thing done before cocking the weapon and firing. First I have to say I'm using one kind of powder for both loading and priming. Its granularity is close to a 2f-3f mix. So If I load the barrel first I end up with some of the powder escaping through the flash hole into the pan anyway. Therefore while being aware not to point the pistol at myself or others I started priming first (with flint at half cock) and loading then.

I know this is contrary to commonly accepted safety advice and I saw youtube videos of others using a special pick to close the flash hole so they can prime last.

Also, I read somewhere that back in the day military muskets were primed first and loaded then.