• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Round ball VS Conical

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trailboy

Pilgrim
Reaction score
Can someone explain the pro's and con's of round ball vs conical.

Distance, accuracy, etc...

Thanks

Tim

I am very new to shooting BP rifles so I have limited experiance.
But I do know first hand that round balls recoil a lot less than heavy conicals.
The smaller size also means the lead goes farther when casting bullets.

Also I figure if round balls have been geting the job done well for the last multiple of hundreds of years, why mess with a wining idea?

The hollow based mini's like was used in the civil war are a much heavier projectile than an equivalant caliber round ball. They carry their energy out to further ranges and deform more on contact. As to accuracy they are equal in potential accuracy with little wind involved out to about 150 yards. Each requires "playing with " to develope accurate loads for the right guns. The mini's usually prefer a faster twist and shallower grooves than round balls. But not always, many early rifled muskets shot well with a min and a 1 in 72 twist. :idunno:

Trailboy said:
Can someone explain the pro's and con's of round ball vs conical.

Distance, accuracy, etc...

Thanks

Tim

Tim this is likely to be a thread that could blow up. All I am going to say about PRB's is it depends on your twist of the barrel. IF you got a fast twist you might want to explore a conical. If it is a slow twist use a PRB.