• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Richards - London Double Barrel - Double Trigger

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BensSG

32 Cal
Reaction score
Hello,

I just bought this rifle at a gun show and was wondering, if you could help me figuring out what it was. I am completely new to the world of muzzleloading and thought it looked nice and would be a good start.

The only identification marks I could see is "Richards" on the sides and "Richards - London" on the barrel.

Thank you !

Ben

IMG_8498.jpg
IMG_8497.jpg
IMG_8500.jpg
Cap5555ture.JPG
IMG_8496.jpg
IMG_8500.jpg

You will find that the name Richards was a common name in the gun trade not only in London but also Birmingham and the surrounding towns It was common for provincial makers to sign their guns London . You gun looks typical provincial but in good condition have it checked out by a gun smith who knows about original muzzle loader and if it would be safe to use
Feltwad

PS - it's a shotgun. Rifles have rifling and rear sights.
Typical double rifles of the era were made by the top gunmakers in London and Birmingham, but mostly London and cost a fortune, even then. They were always fully-cased and came with all the accessories needed to cast the ball, load and shoot them and care for them from the point of view of maintenance - turnscrews and lock tools etc.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thank you. I will try to find a gunsmith here in Phoenix to take a look at it.

Any idea how one could tell from which year/era it could be ?

Thank you. I will try to find a gunsmith here in Phoenix to take a look at it.