• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Question on a good way to start

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Daryl Crawford

50 Cal.
Reaction score
I thought I would come to the skilled builders here with a question. I have no experience building muzzleloaders but have a desire to build one in the future. Right now my time and finances are both pretty tight, but I'm thinking towards the future.
The question is, am I smart to think it might be better to do a refinish on a fair gun first rather than tackle a complete kit build? I thought this could be a way to work on my skills and learn a lot.

What got me thinking was the fact that inherited a TC Renegade in .54. The finish is a little rough, the barrel has some bluing issues, but it sparks well and fires. I inherited it loaded and with powder in the pan! There was rust on the outside of the lock, around the pan, and a little on the inside. Dixon's put a Lyman conversion on the this gun's lock to help make it spark better. I cleared the pan, charged it, and it fired immediately, hitting the exact spot I was aiming at (only 25 yds). I'm waiting on my bore light to get to me so I can see if the rifling and barrel are still good. I plan to fix this one up and keep it in the family. I've got the rust solved and it is usable now. I may work the wood and refinish the barrel. Once done with this minimal project, I thought it might be smart to get something like an older CVA or Traditions rifle that shoots well but needs some love. I could work my chops up on finishing barrels, a little carving, etc.
Thanks for your wise input.