• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Pyrodex Loads

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am new at this and have been looking for some loading data. Have had no luck online.

Rifle: T/C Hawken 50 Caliber, 28" barrel
Powder: Pyrodex RS
Bullet: T/C 320 grain Maxi-Ball
Caps: CCI No. 11

What would be a good load for a beginner? And where can I go to find good loading data?

Thank you in advance.

They claim it is equal to FF black powder.

In a .50 I would start at 50 grains adjust till you find what shoots best.

My TC .50 is pretty happy with 60 grains behind a .495 ball, .018 patch

Because its the 320gr version and not the 370gr maxiball, I would suggest starting at 70 grains RS and go from there. Also may want to try a lubed felt wad under that conical. If you experience hang fires, I highly suggest looking into the Knight redhot #11 nipple. Much better flowing nipple than the factory stuff.

Since you didn't say what the intended use would be, I will speculate that your rifle will be used for hunting.