• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Powder for Flintlock

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I was watching a youtube video of a guy shooting a Kibler Colonial. He loaded powder from his powder horn and then added patch and ball. Then he primed the pan with the powder from the same powder horn. I watched it several times to be sure I was seeing it right. I’m fairly new to muzzleloading and am under the impression that 3F powder is used for load and 4F for primer. Does anyone have an explanation???
Thanks!

My bad! He was pouring from the horn to a powder measure. He did pour directly to the pan.
Think about this and decide for yourself. If he charged the barrel from a measure, why? Because it is better to have 50 or 60 grains go off in your hand then the whole powder horn. If you are shooting a flintlock, and should experience preignition due to embers or whatever, is pouring directly from the horn into the pan OK? The barrel may be pointed in a safe direction, but what will occur at the touch hole?
I know my answer.
Larry

I used 2f or 3F to prime for years with no issue. About a year ago a friend was getting out of shooting and I bought the powder he had. There was a pound of 4F as well…. First time I used 4F…. I have to say I really don’t see a difference. Maybe there is and I just can’t tell…
i think back in the colonial times…. Those guys didn’t have the luxury of having different grades of powder… so it was one and done.