• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Old CVA kit stock problems

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tiger955

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I have been shooting ML's for 20 years now but this is my first attempt at a build.
I found a partially assembled early CVA Mountain Rifle kit at a local gun shop, cheap. The main reason I bought it was it has a "Made in USA" barrel. All parts are unfinished, in the white. Here is the problem...
Whoever started this project was apparently not good with tools, or planning ahead. There is some attempt at carving on the stock, a very bad attempt. And, the inletting on most of the parts is too deep, and too proud in many areas. The too deep I can fix, but how to add wood where too much was removed is the problem. In particular, the inletting for the escutcheons for the barrel wedges are way too big and out of place. It looks like he inletted them and then found the wedges wouldn't fit and the moved them (almost 3/16" on the front one).
I have been looking at this piece of wood for a while trying to find a solution that would look half decent. My ideas...
1. I have read on several builders sites that modern repro mountain/ plains type rifles have way too much wood on them, way too thick compared to originals. I am thinking of filing/ sanding till the inletting is gone then doing it right, but am concerned the forend will be too thin. It is about 1 3/8 thick now which looks about right to me compared with my TC"s, after reshaping it will be about 1 1/8", with a 15/16 barrel. Too thin?