• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Newbie question

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am new to black powder, within the last two months. I was given a rifle by a close friend. The ram rod was missing though. I order the one pictured from totw. My question is, is the ram rod sticking out further than the barrel like this ok? I put the rod down the barrel and cut it off flush. I under stand the rod will be longer than the barrel once there is powder/patch/ball in it. I am just unsure if the rod sticking out is fine or not.

Attachments

• 9AE4CBC0-F070-48C8-812D-925AA6F56B1F.jpeg
    9AE4CBC0-F070-48C8-812D-925AA6F56B1F.jpeg
    80.7 KB · Views: 126
The ramrod hole is shorter than the barrel. Won't hurt to let it stick out.
FYI: While it will work just fine as is, the front sight is backwards.
Hahaha, thank you for that information. I had no clue. It was like that when I got it. I will see if I can get it turned around.

My ramrod is held in by a metal lip at the end of the barrel. If the lip wasn’t there the ramrod would creep out of its guides a few inches forward due to the recoil. If your ramrod isn’t secured somehow it will creep out when you shoot. My ramrod has a slight bow in it. If I don’t turn it to the right spot, it doesn’t seat all the way in.

I have a rifle that has an epoxied on nosecap. Over time the epoxy released and, the nosecap slid forward about a sixteenth along with the loose fitting ramrod every shot until I put a rivet in it.