• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Newbie Here - Pedersoli Scout .50

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pauly Walnuts

32 Cal
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

Brand new to muzzle loading, I shot a traditional percussion last week. I have an archery hunt coming up soon but I wanted to take a traditional rifle along with me since I enjoyed shooting a traditional last week. Im looking at the Pedersoli Scout .50. It has a 1:34 twist rate. Can anyone recommend me any conicals that would be good out of this rifle and which powder/grain charge I should use. It would be greatly appreciated.

Or if anyone can find an instock rifle that you guys think I should get instead of the scout for hunting, I would love the input.

Im looking at the hornady great plains or the powerbelt lead conicals.

Thank You.

You could start out with 50-60 grains of 3F, or 2F. 3F would give you a little more oomhf. I have been looking at the flint version of that gun myself. I think the Hornady conicals would shoot good in that gun.
You didn;t mention cap lock, or flint lock.

Dave