• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Newbie here :) Just bought a Lyman GPR have ?s

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

patsue

32 Cal.
Reaction score
After several years of stewing about it, I finally took the plunge and bought a Lyman GPR in 50 cal. I found it like new but used at a local gunshop. As soon as we get some decent weather here in Iowa, I am going to go wring it out.

But I have some questions

I would have preferred a 54 but the rifle was on sale for 200 bucks and I thought it was too good a deal to pass up. Where would I order a 54 barrel for it when I am ready that will shoot round ball? Also, does someone make a 1/48 twist barrel for the GPR?

Secondly, I know I will need some extra nipples but no one has the right size for mine. Is there a place to order these from?

Thanks, I am sure these are old questions for you all but I am not quite familier around here yet.

Thanks!

Patsue

I believe Green Mountain makes a drop-in barrel for the GPR. If not directly for a GPR, I think the T/C drop-in barrel can be modified to fit the Lyman.

For nipples and whatnot, check out http://www.trackofthewolf.com
They have lots of stuff there, including barrels.

Have fun with your GPR. I've been considering getting one myself. $200 sounds like a great deal. As for coming in a 1:48 twist, the Lyman Hunter comes in a faster twist but I don't know anything about the interchangeability between the Hunter and the GPR.
And welcome to the forum.

Go to www.midsouthshooterssupply.com