• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

New to Goex

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bob K

36 Cl.
Reaction score
I’ve been shooting BP rifles for a few years now and mainly using Pyrodex RS powder. Yesterday I decided to use Goex FF powder with my New Englander 50 cal. Things were going smoothly and when loading my 4th shot it was nearly impossible to get mini down the tube. It was lodged tight midway. Long story short, unable to extract it I pounded it home and will try to shoot out the mini. I’m curious now, if I assume this is due to fouling, what should my expectation be for normal cleaning? After every third shot?

Yup, swabbing the barrel after each or at least every other shot is probably a good idea.
When I'm at the range, I bring a bottle of Windex. After each shot, I do one damp patch and 2 dry.
Some people just use good old spit on a patch.
Black powder, Pyrodex, Triple 7, they're all dirty. Best to keep the barrel clean as you can while target shooting.