• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Musket Cap Question

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Due to the current shortage of #11 caps, I am considering getting some of the musket caps, nipples etc.. for match shooting. I have zero experience with musket caps and need some guidance. I understand the the CCI Reenactment caps are kinda of weak, but which brand)s) are good solid flame throwing caps? I have found the four wing Schuetzen - are they the proper cap? I will putting the proper nipple on Thompson Center rifles - will the Schuetzen fit those rifles? Thanks in advance.

Schuetzen is all I use. Never a problem. Bang every time.

To buy a musket nipple you'll need to know the thread size of your current nipple.

Question - Does CCI only make the reenactment caps now? I have an old tin of CCI musket caps which are not reenactor caps, and worked fine. My new ones are now Schützen or RWS, but that is because that is what was available (and they are good).

I have used RWS caps for ever. They are superior to anything else I have used. I got some CCI caps recently and out of 100, twelve were without priming compound. Just empty shells.

ADK Bigfoot

You need a nipple to fit your firearm which takes musket caps. They are sort of easier to handle. The rim.

You need a good, centered hammer over the nipple to swap out to the larger musket nipple. Some hammer/nipple alignments are less than optimal with production guns. I did the swap on my GPR and it worked fine.