• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

mule ear rifle help

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TeutonicHeathen

36 Cal.
Reaction score
I have been looking for a 36 caliber rifle for squirrel for awhile now. I just had a gentleman call me who said he has a 36 caliber mule ear built by deer creek. He is asking $300. Can somebody give me any reviews of the rifle please? Is it worth $300. I have no experience with mule ear rifle or deer creek products. Says rifle is like new condition

I have no experience with this particular gun but 36s are becoming hard to come by and usually come at a slightly higher price. If it is in good shape and looks good, it is probably worth it but without pictures, hard to say. Maybe if he will let you shoot it first, you can judge better.

Same here no experience with that particular rifle but I do have an original over/under mule ear made in the 1800s and I love it. Seems like the ignition is faster and very reliable. If I had a chance to buy the one described and it was in the like new condition, I wouldn't hesitate to get it. My experience with Deer Creek Products has always been positive.

For $300 it could be a good price if it was only a parts kit if the bore is ok.

Mule ear and underhammer locks are faster ignition than most.

Get some more information and a picture if you can.

Call Deer creek and ask them about it, they built it.

Let us know if you get it.
William Alexander