making patches

Discussion in 'Shooting Accessories' started by olskool, Oct 8, 2019.

Help Support Muzzle Loading Forum by donating:

1. Oct 8, 2019 #1

olskool

olskool

olskool

32 Cal.

I am fairly new here, but I am not a new shooter. I am 62 an have been hunting the woods of SC from the time I could walk. my daddy always had me in the woods. I started shooting BP in the early 70s when I traded something? to a friend for a cap and ball revolver a pound of powder and a double handful of 36 cal. balls. when the balls ran out I started cutting open daddy's 00 buckshot shells and using that. I got out of BP until the late 80s when my wife bought me a CVA Hawkin cap lock rifle kit. I put that off for a wile and now am back wide open with flintlocks. anyway the folks here have been helpful and kind. I thought I would share something I thought of the other day. ya'll might already be doing something like this I don't know, I know it works good for me. I went to the hardware store and took a 45 cal. patch with me. I found a hole saw about the same size, I cut the teeth off with a bench grinder then tapered the edge with a sanding belt and then sharpened it with a file. hit it with hammer a few whacks and it cuts perfect size .40 cal. patches from ticking like a charm! I hope this is a help if you care to try it, it sure beats slicing at the muzzle,,,,,,,,,,[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

2. Oct 8, 2019 #2

ppg1949

ppg1949

ppg1949

40 cal - b MLF Supporter

Olskool, great idea. I wished I had thought of this before buying a punch for my 62 caliber.

olskool likes this.
  3. Oct 8, 2019 #3

rafterob

rafterob

rafterob

62 Cal.

Yes that method is well known. And if you want to step it up, you chuck that in a drill press. Make a Press out of two squares of thin wood with a matching hole bored through them. You can stack up a lot of layers and then drill right through them.

4. Oct 8, 2019 #4

olskool

olskool

olskool

32 Cal.