• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Lyman Great Plains Hunter Question

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DouginAlaska

32 Cal
Reaction score
So I'm new to black powder and bought a Lyman Great Plains Hunter from a guy in Oregon and had it shipped up here. I've been reloading since I was ten years old but haven't dealt with black powder rifles, and by the way, I'm an old guy now. I have no info on the rifle, the guy I bought it from didn't have the manual. It's a really nice looking rifle but I have no idea if I can shoot sabot bullets or need to shoot round balls. I've watched videos showing how to determine the twist rate. This is a 50 cal rifle. If I do the twist rate check with a jag and patch, what size jag and what size patch do you guys suggest. Should I use a shotgun cleaning ramrod? I use a bore snake for cleaning my shotguns. Thanks much for your help, I appreciate it!

Good ask, honest.
No worries to check the twist rate, the Hunter is 1-32, a fast twist. It's made to shoot conical or "sabot rounds" (that aren't discussed here in detail, it being the traditional forum).