• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Lyman GPR factory finish...add Tru-Oil?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,

I have a new Lyman GPR (the factory finished, not the kit). I'm a newbie.

IMG_2175.JPG

The stain and oil on the stock looks fine, and the manual says "the stock has been stained with oil leaving a dull finish. As with all oil finished stocks, rubbing in additional thin coats of oil (Linseed or Tru-Oil) will further enhance the finish and protect the stock."

I know there are plenty of threads and videos out there showing how to finish a stock, so I'm not necessarily asking for a tutorial. I'm just new to this, and not sure what step I should begin with since the stock is already stained and finished.

I have some Tru-Oil, and the instructions have 5 steps:
1) Remove old finish
2) Sand with the grain to remove scratches
3) Apply oil with fingers or a cloth and allow to dry for 2 hours
4) Buff lightly with 00 steel wool
5) Repeat steps 3 and 4 as desired

Since the stock is factory finished, should I begin on step 3? Or do I need to sand first?

Apologies if this has already been answered in a previous thread. I did a search and found several different opinions (which is probably what I'll get in response to this, too!)

On an already finished stock that’s in oil you may want to add just light repeated coats.
I keep several bot talks of the ‘original oil finish’ from track of the Wolf. I find it the same or near same as the old Wakegon bay tru-coat.
A few drops on your finger rubbed in and then buffed.