• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Lost deer

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am new to the black powder world my kids bought me a kit for father's day I put together.. couldn't believe how much I enjoyed shooting it. So I decided to deer hunt with it and only use bp all year for my hunting season. Saturday I was in the stand at 1:48 pm when a buck pushing a doe came though I took a shot at 30 yards and he just kept walking. I reloaded and shot at him again at 40 yards and he just stood there for what seemed like forever probably 3 minutes . Flickering his tail and walked off . I couldn't believe it I thought I missed twice but knew he wasn't acting right I have seen deer do that tail flickering before when liver shot with a bow and then just walk off without running just like he did. So I got down went to where he was standing last and there was a thick blood spot on the ground tracked it for 70 80 yards and the blood just stopped we searched around for awhile to find nothing else even called in a dog the next morning but it did rain we never did find that deer I don't understand it and it makes me sick I was using a 50 Cal t/c minie ball 275 gr conical wi