Lock panel tight fit

Discussion in 'The Gun Builder's Bench' started by Douglas Leih, Nov 14, 2019.

Help Support Muzzle Loading Forum by donating:

1. Nov 14, 2019 #1

Douglas Leih

Douglas Leih

Douglas Leih

Pilgrim

Hey guys and gals. Newbie here with a newb question. So, I'm building my first rifle and I've run into a bit of a problem: I drilled and tapped my lock bolts, only to find that my lock panel doesn't sit completely flush with the side of my barrel when I tighten the screws down. There's a slight gap along the top the the panel, enough that I'm afraid that pan powder will collect in and cause corrosion/ignite. Any and all advice is appreciated.

2. Nov 14, 2019 #2

poker

poker

poker

40 cal - b MLF Supporter

You could fill the gap with an epoxy I suppose. Or glue an exact fitting wood patch in and recut the mortice for the lock.

3. Nov 14, 2019 #3

dave_person

dave_person

dave_person

54 Cal.

Hi Doug,
    Just inlet the lock deeper. What you are calling the "lock panel" is called the lock plate bolster and it must be tight up against the barrel.

dave

Treestalker likes this.
  4. Nov 14, 2019 #4

EC121

EC121

EC121

40 Cal.

Something on the lock is bottoming out on the wood instead of the side of the barrel. Smoke the lock and look for black spots.

5. Nov 14, 2019 #5

Col. Batguano

Col. Batguano

Col. Batguano

69 Cal.

Often the culprit is a part of the main spring as it swoops upward to the lock bolster. When you smoke the lock, look not only for black left on the wood, but for shiny spots left on the metal of the lock. Inletting a lock is a very tedious process.

Treestalker likes this.
  6. Nov 14, 2019 #6

flntlokr

flntlokr

flntlokr

Pilgrim