• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Kibler SMR lock and flints

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
So I'm new to flinlocks, and I have about 70 shots through my new SMR. The lock came with a French Amber flint installed bevel up, and it sparked well, but was striking the frizzen about 1/2 way down. I changed the orientation to bevel down and it still sparks well, hits the frizzen closer to the top, and still has a slight downward angle meaning it's not hitting at a 90 degree angle, but it's close to it. I made this change without actually firing the rifle.

It seems like it's being hard on flints. The original broke because I didn't have it installed square to the frizzen. I bought a dozen from Heritage Products so I'd have spares. The next one lasted about 45 shots before it wouldn't spark and couldn't be adjusted. The next one had a fissure near the corner and the corner broke off after about 15 rounds. I installed the one that's in the lock now and have about 10 rounds on it, and it still looks good.

Is this normal, or should I be getting better life from them? Also, for those that have SMR's do you use French Amber, French Black, or English black flints?