• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Just starting the journey...

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Russ Clagett

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I'm just getting into the BP cap rifle journey but I've been fascinated by them for most of my life. Ended up finding a Renegade 54 that looks unfired, so I thought if I need to tinker with it that would be fine. My thinking was I would start the learning curve and if I reach a point where I could enjoy a nicer rifle, maybe then I would get one.

In the meantime I've realized this is a pretty nice rifle.

I got a mold for the 54 REAL and cast up some bullets since I do some of that anyway. At first I tried Pyrodex cause it was what I could find, but then found some Triple 7. The pyrodex didn't work out well at all, and ended up spilled out in the yard.

The T7 works great though...and I get really nice groups at 25 which is where I started. Groups at 50 are still pretty tight, and now that I have the rifle zeroed I feel pretty confident about hunting with it.

Right now I'm using the 54 caliber REAL over 60 grains of T7 and it seems decently stout enough to kill a deer or wild hog in South Texas.