• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Just ordered my first smoothbore

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eric/WV

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I just ordered my first smoothbore from Narragansett Armes. It is a Culpeper Smooth Rifle in .62 cal. It has a 38" barrel with rear sights. It will be trimmed in Iron with a patchbox and cheek piece inlay. It's gonna be a beautiful gun. The 6 or 7 months wait is going to kill me.

I'm new to the world of smoothbores, so I figured a rear sight would make things easier. It seems to me that a smoothbore would be very versatile for all forms of hunting. In the hills of WV, it is rare to take a long distance shot at a deer, so I think a smoothbore will work fine for everything.

Congradulations on your new smoothbore. I'm sure you'll
have a great time with it.

The rear sights will probably make things easier. The only negative might be keepin' you out of Trade musket matches.
They are a lota fun. I'm sure you'll have plenty of fun anyway.
Regards,
charlie47