• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Is this blank worth using?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brushyspoons

36 Cl.
Reaction score
I'm still a novice builder so this may be a "me" problem more than it is a wood problem, but while attempting to square up a blank for my second longrifle I've been having a much harder time with hand planing than I did with my first blank. I've sharpened and resharpened my plane irons because as soon as they touch the wood, they start to chatter and tear instead of slicing off nice and clean ribbons. I've planed some of the scraps from my first blank and they cut fine on those pieces, so I'm not sure if I was working with soft maple on my first rifle or if I simply need to do a better job sharpening my irons. This blank and the one for my first rifle are the same grade maple (CM2).
Additionally, I've noticed what appear to be two knots running perpendicular across the wrist area:
0001.png

Here is a zoomed out picture to give a better perspective on their location:
0002.png

And here is the other side of the stock with some of that ugly tear out I mentioned:
0003.png

Any advice is appreciated