• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Hunting with a percussion rifle

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wolf777

32 Cal
Reaction score
Forgive my lack of knowledge as I’m new to the ML world, but I had a question about hunting with a percussion rifle that I felt didn’t belong in the hunting forum.

When hunting with a percussion rifle and a cap in place, are you walking through the woods with the hammer down, or in half cock? I’m assuming with the hammer down it keeps the cap from falling off and the weather but is literally a smack away from accidental discharge. The half cock position is not a true safety but doesn’t allow the trigger to engage the lock but doesn’t protect the cap.

Thanks in advance. Just wanting to make sure to approach this adventure with safety as my top priority.