• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Hole in top hat percussion cap.

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nagantino

36 Cl.
Reaction score
I’m new to muzzleloading. I bought a PH .451 rifle which is fun to shoot. On its 5th. trip to the range I noticed that the fired percussion caps had a hole blown in them. I had not noticed this before, so, is it common or does it indicate something else?

I’m new to muzzleloading. I bought a PH .451 rifle which is fun to shoot. On its 5th. trip to the range I noticed that the fired percussion caps had a hole blown in them. I had not noticed this before, so, is it common or does it indicate something else?
It's quite normal for the percussion cap to be damaged after it has been fired. Usually, they split up one side or the other, often blowing completely off of the nipple.
IMO, this is a good thing. One of the few peeves I have with percussion caps is when they don't become damaged and/or blow off of the nipple.
When that happens, I have to get out my knife and scrape them loose before I can reload.

Ok, 60gr of WHAT Swiss powder, 2f 3f?

Second, what BRAND of caps are you using. The CCI reenactor ones are garbage.

60 grains of Swiss 2f and the percussion cap is Dynamo Nobel No.1218. Vordlander Zundhutchen.