• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Help with cleaning??

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dandyfunk

36 Cal.
Reaction score
Hello all, Total newb question here. After many hours of cleaning and I mean many. If I run my brush through the barrel and then a dry patch it comes up black. After six patches used on both sides it will come clean. Then run the brush through eight times and its back to a dirty patch. I have repeated this process using cleaners as well and the result is the same. I have put 100 patches through this barrel using this method and it still comes up dirty. Help please!! Df

Forget about the brush. A Brush not only removes fouling it also will deposit it. If you have to brush, do it first then follow with patches until they run clean and oil.

How I do my flint fullstocks.