Help Please! Trying to identify...

Discussion in 'Firearm Identification' started by Dave Rodgers, Apr 3, 2019.

Help Support Muzzle Loading Forum by donating:

1. Apr 3, 2019 #1

Dave Rodgers

Dave Rodgers

Dave Rodgers

32 Cal

Hello everyone...I'm really not a firearms expert, but picked up the following muzzleloader and I'm trying to get some info on it, date it, and a rough valuation so that I can eventually sell it reasonably. I'm appealing to your wisdom and experience

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Apr 3, 2019 #2

TFoley

TFoley

TFoley

62 Cal.

It's a London-marked percussion action fowling piece from around the eighteen-forties, when the back-action lock and the percussion system became more wide-spread among buyers. It MAY have been converted from a flintlock. However, the barrel was proofed in Birmingham. The crossed sceptres in this style were in use from 1813 to 1904. Good pictures, BTW. They help a lot.

3. Apr 3, 2019 #3

Treestalker

Treestalker

Treestalker

45 Cal. MLF Supporter

Dave, it resembles a gun brought in for repairs back in the '80s that had a cherry stock and long barrel. It had been badly broken at the wrist. It was dated 1831 and was probably a 'made from spare parts' gun. As I recall it was 16 guage, American. It had that large 'flat' checkering on the wrist, and Mr. Miller did an outstanding job on it, inserting a steel rod and epoxying the wrist back together, then re-cutting the checkering and matching the original finish/patina. I imagine there were lots of guns made up like these back in the day. Just a versatile homestead shotgun. Your gun appears to be made up in walnut with the barrel fitted with a drum and using a civilian 'Enfield' type percussion lock. Really a neat piece, it could tell tales of woe for small game and birds, Geo.

4. Apr 3, 2019 #4

Dave Rodgers

Dave Rodgers

Dave Rodgers

32 Cal