Help Please! Trying to identify...

Help Support Muzzle Loading Forum:

Dave Rodgers

32 Cal
Reaction score
Hello everyone...I'm really not a firearms expert, but picked up the following muzzleloader and I'm trying to get some info on it, date it, and a rough valuation so that I can eventually sell it reasonably. I'm appealing to your wisdom and experience

TFoley

62 Cal.
Reaction score
It's a London-marked percussion action fowling piece from around the eighteen-forties, when the back-action lock and the percussion system became more wide-spread among buyers. It MAY have been converted from a flintlock. However, the barrel was proofed in Birmingham. The crossed sceptres in this style were in use from 1813 to 1904. Good pictures, BTW. They help a lot.

Treestalker

45 Cal.
MLF Supporter
Reaction score
Dave, it resembles a gun brought in for repairs back in the '80s that had a cherry stock and long barrel. It had been badly broken at the wrist. It was dated 1831 and was probably a 'made from spare parts' gun. As I recall it was 16 guage, American. It had that large 'flat' checkering on the wrist, and Mr. Miller did an outstanding job on it, inserting a steel rod and epoxying the wrist back together, then re-cutting the checkering and matching the original finish/patina. I imagine there were lots of guns made up like these back in the day. Just a versatile homestead shotgun. Your gun appears to be made up in walnut with the barrel fitted with a drum and using a civilian 'Enfield' type percussion lock. Really a neat piece, it could tell tales of woe for small game and birds, Geo.

Dave Rodgers

32 Cal
Reaction score
Interesting stuff...I actually obtained it from a guy who has had it for the last 25 years. According to him, he bought it from an antique shop up in Vermont.