• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Hello everyone, I’m New to cap & ball revolvers and I’ve got a Pyrodex question

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chaco24

32 Cal
Reaction score
1C927F70-5528-4271-8F1A-1C2CB1C564AD.jpeg 2C7E49A2-5215-4EB0-A289-633F30187C30.jpeg 0482FBBE-25E0-4818-A2D9-8B3EED55FCB4.jpeg 1C927F70-5528-4271-8F1A-1C2CB1C564AD.jpeg Purchased a Pietta New Army 44. at Cabela’s over the weekend and the only powder they had on hand was Pyrodex FFG, so I bought it along with “starter kit” that had a capper, powder flask, powder measure, nipple wrench, etc. My question is about the Pyrodex FFG the manual says to use FFFG powder but like I said Cabela’s only had FFG available. Can I just measure out 25-30 of the FFG with my powder measure and use it in the revolver? I don’t want to damage myself or the revolver. Also as this is a brand spanking new revolver covered in grease I could use some “first time “ cleaning advice/tips before I load and start shootings. TIA

Lucky for you Red Dot wasn't the only powder they had.

It is printed right on the barrel, "Black Powder Only".