• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Hammer Cam Replacement

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I was fiddling with my pietta today and I noticed when I put revolver in half cock the barrel would not rotate. It basically stock except for the nipples. The bolt appears to be hanging up. Disassemble and noticed a small gouge in the cam on the trigger. I’m no expert on these but I think the cam has everything to do with timing? If the cam and the bolt fingers are not right you get what I have an improperly timed revolver. So I went on the Taylor website the hammer is on back order. I noticed in the description it lists all the parts the hammer is comprised of. Item 18 is the hammer assembly and item 56 is the cam. The cam is on back order as well. Great. Anyway over the years of shooting these things I have replaced the hammers because the cams wore out they are obviously not heat treated properly and subject to wear or damage. I don’t know this gun fairly new few dozen shots and my only Pietta. Which I will say surprisingly out of the box was timed properly. So my question is has anyone replaced just the cam it apparently is pressed in but you never know because it must be case hardened as an assembly? Any ideas or recommendations?
Thanks
Joe

I had this problem and here is wher I dealt with it if it helps.