• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Hammer Cam Damage

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sawney Beane

32 Cal
Reaction score
I am fairly new to black powder shooting and picked up my 5th revolver at a local gun show. Presented as a "new in the box" Pietta 1860 Colt Army at less than list price. I examined it, the cylinder and nipples were pristine, slight cylinder wear I figured came from the original buyer cycling it for amusement. Timing seemed OK. In my excitement I made a rookie mistake and failed to check the half cock function. When placed in half cock the bolt locks the cylinder. After pulling all the parts I compared them to my 1851. Everything was nice except the hammer cam. It looks like perhaps Bubba had some extra time and tools. I believe the cams are hardened so the damage seems intentional (some kind of failed trigger job?) Also noticed the half cock notch is buggered up too. Hope that's not a sign of more issues. All in all I don't mind the excitement as I am getting an education on these beauties. Anyway a new hammer is on it's way from Taylor's. Here's a pic:
100_1486.JPG

Last edited: