• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

green mtn vs colerain barrels, is one better

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kemart17

36 Cal.
Reaction score
looking for information as to if one of those makers barrels in better then the other.

Thanks

Though I have no experience with Colerain. I do own a Green mountain barrel and I'm extremely happy with it. Also I've yet to hear a bad word about Green MTN.

I have both, the Colerain and the GM. The differences, that I see.....are..the Colerain has deeper round bottom rifling. This is good for my flintlock, because I only shoot real black powder out of it and it doesn't fowl up as much. On the other hand, my GM barrels, are on cap lock rifles. I shoot Black MZ powder out of these rifles. The reason I use the Black MZ powder, in these rifles, is due to them being small caliber, and there is less fowling.
Both barrels are accurate. I didn't choose them. They were on the rifles, when I bought them.

Haven't built a MLer w/ a Green Mountain bbl, but hopefully the exterior is better than the Colerain bbls I've used. The final product is probably the same.....but from a builder's viewpoint, I'll use Rice bbls every time if possible.....Fred

The custom guns I have, have Green Mountain, Colerain, Getz, Rice and one Ed Rayl barrel.

They are all very high quality barrels and each one will shoot better than most shooters can.

It's difficult to rate the makers based on the bore or rifling as they are all good but I do like the round bottom rifling a bit better than the square cut rifling.