• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Good reduced load for .45 cal patched ball

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I've been shooting 65 grains of 3F Goex for many years in my percussion .45 cal and more recently flint, match guns with good results but of late have been shooting in doors where wind deflection is not an issue. I would like to find a lighter load that is accurate to the 25 yards we shoot indoors. Could use some imput on what is working for others to test out for my indoor load.

My A weight colerain 1/48 twist shoots great with 20 grains of 3f to 25 yards.much beyond that and the light load won't group though. I'm using .440 hand cast ball with an (I think) .018 patch with just spit for lube.

Instead of working up your load, work down. Start at 45gr and move down 5gr at a time until you see accuracy drop off. My guess is you could probably go down to around 20gr but that's just a guess.