• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Good idea... or bad?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
So, I am new to flintlocks but haven’t been this excited about a new hobby (/way of life) in a long time.

Lifelong firearms and hunting enthusiast. Just turned 50. Spent many thousands of dollars on “conventional” guns and hunting over the years. Sometimes several thousand and a few times several tens of thousands of dollars at once. No longer in that financial position, though.

So my question is:
Should I keep a log of how much I spend on Flintlock guns and hunting from now, the beginning?

I sometimes wish I had kept track of all the money I spent on the aforementioned.

It’s certainly not a bragging rights thing. Just wondering if it might be interesting some day.

Open to all opinions.

Thanks,

Only you can answer that question. How anal are you? Do you do a budget?

I dont lean that way, I also have never done a personal budget. I had a friend that kept almost every receipt in a 3 ring binder for most any purchases. It made him happy, so his choice.

If I knew what I spent in a year to play it would not change what I spent.

Fleener