• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

General Kit question please

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am a long time woodworker (furniture, marquetry, turning, inlay) and I was just starting to look into rifle kits. I see many that are 90% or more stock completion and Mr. Kibler's kits are at 99-100% as far as any degree of necessary woodworking is concerned. The other end of the spectrum seems (so far) to be a seasoned blank and purchase barrel, lock, trigger(s) and furniture piece-by-piece. Granted I just started looking, but is there a happy medium in the kit world? I would like to get some experience for the assembly process, but I did want to have the enjoyment of some woodworking and apply that skill to the rifle build process. If they do most or all of that work for you, there is little to nothing to learn in application of previously learned craft skill. The other end of that is jump in the deep end and start with a block of wood. Any guidance is appreciated.
Thank you in advance.

Hi,
There are quite a few options. Chambers kits will require a fair amount of wood working. Here is a thread that will give you an idea including some minor problems that often crop up with kits like this.