• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

fps with my 80 grains fffg 50 cal

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

leadball

40 Cal.
Reaction score
What type of velocity and energy am i getting with this load: .490 rb with .15 patch over 80 grains of fffg(goex). lets say 50 -100 yards. Im not good with numbers. Just curious. Its in a traditions kentucky percus in 50 cal

What type of velocity and energy am i getting with this load: .490 rb with .15 patch over 80 grains of fffg(goex).

My load data states as follows:

(80 grains of FFFg; .490 rb with .15 patch; 32 inch barrel)

1777 fps at muzzle - 1273 fps at 50 - 995 fps at 100 yards.

1260 FT/lbs energy at muzzle - 680 FT/lbs at 50 - 424 FT/lbs at 100 yards.

:results: :haha:

leadball,

I'm just curious why you would want to shoot 80 grains of powder in a Traditions pistol, unless for hunting big game? The Lyman Great Plains Pistol, probably the best on the market recommends a load of only 30 grains. Are you getting complete powder burn with such a load? Just curious? :hmm:

:haha: I haven't got a clue to where I though he was talking about a pistol??? :haha: :haha:

you should realy try a .015 patch. That .150" patch really cuts the ball size down and is difficult to get to shoot well. I'd expect a .220" ball might be the largest usable.
: Just kidding - misplaced decimal point is all.
: 80gr. 3F should give in the 1,800fps to 2,000fps range.