• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Flinter lock opinions wanted

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but here's my unschooled opinion, for what it's worth:

you have, I think, a Southern Mountain rifle which was made from a parts kit. the stock appears similar to the precarved stocks offered by Track of the Wolf. these are (if memory serves) made for Track by the folks at Pecatonica. They are well made stocks, and if you need a precarve, I wouldn't hesitate to contact them. I've used several and had good result. the lock is a Durs Egg - I have one on my Southern Mountain and I'm quite happy with it. the furniture looks to come from Track, so there's a pretty fair chance that this is one of their kits (I hesitate to say 'kit' because what you get is a parts set: building one of these guys is not a tab A into slot B affair.)

had it been my rifle, I would have taken more wood away, but what you have is a good and serviceable gun and you can expect many years (that would be, say, the remainder of your life and that of your heirs) of good service if the rifle is properly cared for. always clean it as soon as possible after firing.

more thoughts:

the front sight is not to my liking - were it my gun, I would change this.