• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

"Fixing" the TC Hawken

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Boomer

40 Cal.
Reaction score
Howdy folks, I have a TC Hawken 54 I bought as a kit in the early 80s that I recently started shooting again after being in the safe for 20yrs. Its still a fine shooter but I have an itch to make it more HC.

I have looked at the parts in the Hawken Shop & plan to order their 4 piece conversion set to replace all my brass furniture with iron.
I am wondering if anyone else here has undertaken this particular project & if so can comment on quality & how well it goes together.

Of particular interest is if anyone has taken it farther than just the kit? I would like to replace the patchbox, wedgeplates & tang as well.
As you might imagine my concern is; are the new patchbox, wedgeplate & tang larger than the existing furniture? Obviously its easy enough to remove material but adding it is a another thing entirely. Looking at the patchbox it looks larger than the TC version but I would rather be sure before spending $80 on a guess. I have significant doubts about the tang & wedgeplates but it doesnt hurt to ask.

Currently the rifle looks as good if not better than anything the factory turned out & is in pristine condition. I only say that to to highlight I am not looking to fix an inferior build. I want the rifle when altered to look as good as it does now only with HC furniture.

Any insight & comments would me most appreciated.

Bob