• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Filler

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Right, so if you load a smoothie with larger shot, like 00 and bigger, do you or should you fill the gaps with any sort of media to create a tighter or better packed load?

I'm brand new to a smoothbore, but am trying to get ideas for fall turkey season regarding shot bigger than small bird stuff.

I don't intend to use buckshot on turkeys, but I have a bunch of .36 balls that might be useful on deer later in my .60. Probably wouldn't risk a load of buck on a buck, but I could see using it on a doe. I usually carry two guns(muzzleloading not modern) into the woods for a stand hunt, both as backup for a bad shot, or as a secondary option.

Just want to know if all the gaps between larger shot should be filled with some inert media.

For turkey i don’t use any filler in the shot and i only shoot roundball...never liked buckshot for deer.

Nice to know. Never used buckshot on a deer either, but like I say, I have all these swaged .36 balls laying around and no .51 navy in which to use them. I have four flint rifles for deer but I need to use up these .36 balls.

Do you use #4 or #6 for turkey?

States differ in what is allowed for shot size & even gauge for turkey hunting, so check your regs. Buck shot is illegal for deer in most places and for good reason. It's not very effective because of the lack of penetration. Those that have seen it used will testify to it being a crippler, not a killer. Just food for thought.