• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

FFg for a .32 cal?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I’m fairly new to Blackpowder shooting and have acquired a T/C Cherokee for squirrel hunting. I’ve been shooting FFg in it but everything I’ve read recommends FFFg for smaller calibers. Is there a specific reason for this. Apologies if it’s been covered before. Still new here. Thanks!

You should use 3F in your .32, the rule of thumb is .50 and larger (.54 .58) use 2F. .50 and smaller (.45 .44 .40 .36 & .32) use 3F. If your shooting a .50, you can go either way. The gun may prefer one or the other. The reason for this is that 3F, being smaller grained, burns faster than 2F. If you use 2F in your .32 your likely not burning all your powder before your bullet leaves the barrel. Conversely, using 3F in a larger caliber gun can create higher chamber pressure and erratic accuracy.