• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Douglas Barrel

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

.32-cal

Pilgrim
Reaction score
Hello guys...A friend of mine was shown a handsmade cap and ball mzzleloading target rifle and was told it had a Douglas Barrel. I'm rather new at shooting muzzleloaders and have never heard of a Douglas Barrel. Does any one have any info on that barrel.
Thanks in advance

They were a very good quality. If the barrel is in good condition,(no rust or pitting in the bore) it should be a good shooter.

I have a .50 cal. Douglas barrel on one of my rifles. It is a 1 in 66" twist. They are verry good barrels but I don't thank they are being made any more.

:grin:
Thanks Rebel....I wasn't planning on buying it as the cost is $1,200.00 and it is 11 years old. I had just never heard of a Douglas barrel.

Thanks Rifleball36....If they aren't made any more maybe that's why I hadn't heard of them before.

I think they still make smokless barrels. Quit the black barrels due to people trying to sue. They are good barrels. Dilly

Douglas ML bbls were as good as they come. Put one on a rock lock over 30 years ago, still throws them plumb center.

I am currently building a 32 cal for my grandson and it is a Douglas Barrel 1 in 66 twist. My brother had this barrel for 25 years or more and never built the gun and gave the barrel to me.
Douglas still makes barrels for the smokeless market but has quit makeing black powder barrels due to lawsuit from someone who loaded a black powder barrel with smokless powder and blowing it up.