• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Do you typically remove lock for cleaning?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joe4702

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hi,

I just got my first BP rifle - a Lyman .54 Trade.

I've been shooting cap and ball revolvers for about 6 months and am used to doing a detail strip after every range session to get all the fouling out.

Just wondering if I need to remove the lock on the rifle after each range session? The Lyman manual doesn't mention it - just says to remove and clean the barrel. Seems like fouling shouldn't normally get under the lock plate, but I wanted to ask the experts.

Thanks,
Joe

junkman_01 said:
I have always removed and cleaned the lock from all my BP rifles and muskets.

Me too! It just takes a few minutes to scrub it under the faucet with a toothbrush and dish detergent, dry it with a paper towel then a hair dryer (or set it in the sun). After I finish cleaning barrel, spray lock with Ballistol, wipe off excess, and everything's good to go.

Most of the time I do. My reproduction Tryon .45 cal has the lock behind the breach and is far less subject to fouling than the standard Hawken or GPR design.

For me it depends on a couple of factors. Generally if I have the time I will remove the lock after every shoot. However, I don't always have the time so if I've not fired a whole lot of rounds out of it I do sometimes fudge and just squirt some Rem-oil into the lock area whilst the barrel is off. I've had this rifle for almost 2 decades and the lock still looks brand new inside so I don't think I've done her wrong.